Monday, May 4, 2009

UGA Women’s Club Volleyball Team wins national championship

The 2009 University of Georgia Women’s Club Volleyball Team recently won the National Volleyball Championships by defeating Ohio University in the Division II finals.
“Opportunities for regional and/or national competition for club sports are sometimes difficult to find, or when available, difficult to fund,” said Kent J. Blumenthal, executive director of the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association. “We appreciate the dedication of the University of Georgia… and the support of the Department of Recreational Sports.”

Members of this year’s championship team are: Elise Cashman, Marietta; Alex Condy, Mt. Pleasant, S.C.; Amanda Crawford and Danielle Crawford, Moreland; Lisa DeCarolis and Bethany Houser, Roswell; Anna Ewing and Kathryn Ewing, Marietta; Lauren Ford, Decatur; Katherine Poss, Newnan; Casey Stoll, Kennesaw; and Valana Vannoy, Stone Mountain.

Fayette Front Page
Georgia Front Page
Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

No comments: